Just The Beginning

I have gotten my passport AND visa…..

 

Gotten on multiple planes to cross land and sea! I couldn’t have asked for smoother flights or better seat mates….

And now have arrived in Stockton!! This is my absolutely lovely house…..

DCIM101GOPRO

I have the cutest house mate (you too Dan and Rach), my new best bud, Asher– he is a race car driver in his free time…..

IMG_1003

This blog post isn’t going to be about how beautiful the area we’re in is or how great the coffee is, it is going to be about the hard truth that has laid this place so heavy on my heart. Stockton is not what people from the States typically imagine when they think of England. They think of London– fabulous, appealing to the eye, hustle bustle, very “hip”. That’s not where I live; I am surrounded by adults, teenagers, and elderly barely getting by day by day. That is the truth of where I live. To the world’s eye this is where “the least of these” live but that is NOT the truth about these people:

Ā James 2:5 Listen, my beloved brothers, has not God chosen those who are poor in the world to be rich in faith and heirs of the kingdom, which He has promised to those who love Him?

To me this place is absolutely lovely not because of the looks from the outside, but rather because of the vision God has given me to see these people come alive in Him! There is power in His name to break every chain of bondage and to bring this community into freedom. The sense of community in this area is so wonderful and I’m so excited for the days ahead.

Please continue to join me in praying for open hearts as we continue to do community outreach, youth clubs, step into schools, and begin to do one on one mentorship! Pray for our team to seize every open door that God has placed in front of us with audacity!

One Reply to “”

Leave a comment